Bug or I misunterstood the rules?

Members can make suggestions for improving the site and improving the forum as well as submit bug reports to be reviewed by our support team here.
Post Reply
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 5:47 pm

Bug or I misunterstood the rules?

#1 Post by Nixonm » Sun Apr 19, 2020 5:26 pm

I tried attacking my own fleet in a game with a supported attack (resulted in a 2v1 situation) and my losing fleet did not have to retreat, it is like I bumped into myself. My goal was to retreat the losing fleet in an enemy empty territory, which was certain to happen due to the current unit position.

I wondered if it is a bug or if I misunderstood that you could attack your own armies/fleet

Silver Donator
Silver Donator
Posts: 244
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:55 pm
Karma: 123

Re: Bug or I misunterstood the rules?

#2 Post by Yonni » Sun Apr 19, 2020 5:57 pm

You cannot dislodge your own unit. The adjudication system (at least in classic) is very robust and has no bugs.

Here's a list of different adjudication scenarios for future reference:

specifically, it's test case 6.D.11

Posts: 2129
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:16 pm
Location: The Five Valleys, Gloucestershire
Karma: 1689

Re: Bug or I misunterstood the rules?

#3 Post by Octavious » Sun Apr 19, 2020 6:34 pm

I've you're really keen there's a set of every rulebook that came with the game going back to the Realpolitik days in the 50s at the Diplomacy Archive.


One day I'll get round to reading one of them :razz:

Posts: 30
Joined: Fri May 04, 2018 4:37 am
Location: Melbourne
Karma: 12

Re: Bug or I misunterstood the rules?

#4 Post by bartogian » Mon Apr 20, 2020 9:56 am

There's a newer rulebook available online (easy to search and find) that is the 5th edition from 2008. In keeping with a tradition of bloat, it is an even larger pdf file.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests