Support Moves question

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
Post Reply
Message
Author
CrazyCreeperDJ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:19 am
Karma: 1

Support Moves question

#1 Post by CrazyCreeperDJ » Mon Apr 30, 2018 11:16 pm

So I just want to understand how support moves work. You can only support a unit into a territory if the supporting unit is adjacent to that territory and can move there itself as well, right? So lets say you have an army in Ukraine and a navy in Sevastopol, can the navy in Sevastopol support the Ukraine army into Moscow? Any help is appreciated thx.

ghug
Posts: 2035
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 3:51 pm
Location: Seattle
Karma: 525

Re: Support Moves question

#2 Post by ghug » Mon Apr 30, 2018 11:29 pm

Moved from Off-Topic to Diplomacy Advice.

Your understanding is correct. An army in Sevastopol could support Ukraine to Moscow. A fleet in Sevastopol could not, since the fleet itself cannot move to Moscow. Likewise, a fleet in Sevastopol could support a fleet in Rumania to Black Sea, but an army in Sevastopol could not, because it can't move to Black Sea itself.
2

CrazyCreeperDJ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:19 am
Karma: 1

Re: Support Moves question

#3 Post by CrazyCreeperDJ » Mon Apr 30, 2018 11:57 pm

Thank You!!

yavuzovic
Posts: 1804
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:42 pm
Karma: 133
Contact:

Re: Support Moves question

#4 Post by yavuzovic » Tue May 01, 2018 10:39 am

But an army in Sevastopol can support a move to Rumania from Black Sea.

Jamiet99uk
Posts: 3620
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:42 pm
Location: Durham, UK
Karma: 612
Contact:

Re: Support Moves question

#5 Post by Jamiet99uk » Tue May 01, 2018 6:38 pm

Of course. Because it can move to Rumania.

dargorygel
Site Moderator
Site Moderator
Posts: 868
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:55 pm
Location: Over the rainbow
Karma: 306
Contact:

Re: Support Moves question

#6 Post by dargorygel » Tue May 01, 2018 8:08 pm

And a fleet in Sevastapol cannot support an army moving to Ireland.

SpaceDip
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 11:11 pm
Location: Portugal
Karma: 9

Re: Support Moves question

#7 Post by SpaceDip » Tue May 01, 2018 8:49 pm

dargorygel wrote:
Tue May 01, 2018 8:08 pm
And a fleet in Sevastapol cannot support an army moving to Ireland.
Unless the army in question is moving there for the beer!
3

Flying Dominion
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:02 am

Re: Support Moves question

#8 Post by Flying Dominion » Sun Jul 01, 2018 7:51 am

Something I wanted to know, but just found out with certainty by watching it happen is this: if the are 2 non-adjacent armies who can each move into the same space (e.g. armies at Holland and Burgundy each able to move into Belgium) once can support the other (Holland army moves to Belgium and Burgundy army supports the Holland army).

PRINCE WILLIAM
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 11:17 am
Karma: 27

Re: Support Moves question

#9 Post by PRINCE WILLIAM » Sun Jul 01, 2018 9:43 am

Yes, because both armies can move there. The basic rule is that a unit can support move where it can go.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest