Question about conceding

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
Post Reply
Message
Author
MadMarx
Gold Donator
Gold Donator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:01 am
Karma: 148

Question about conceding

#1 Post by MadMarx » Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:17 pm

If I concede in 1v1 after my opponent has left, will the game simply cancel?

yavuzovic
Posts: 2871
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:42 pm
Location: Sakarya/Turkey
Karma: 553
Contact:

Re: Question about conceding

#2 Post by yavuzovic » Mon Nov 23, 2020 8:13 pm

Don't you win when your enemy is left?

MadMarx
Gold Donator
Gold Donator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:01 am
Karma: 148

Re: Question about conceding

#3 Post by MadMarx » Mon Nov 23, 2020 8:50 pm

You don’t win immediately, another phase needs to go through first... I didn’t want the game canceled, but I was getting crushed so I didn’t want the win either, so I just conceded before he officially left since I don’t know the exact specifics of how it works...
1

jmo1121109
Developer
Developer
Posts: 1062
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 4:20 pm
Karma: 2817
Contact:

Re: Question about conceding

#4 Post by jmo1121109 » Mon Nov 23, 2020 10:18 pm

MadMarx wrote:
Mon Nov 23, 2020 5:17 pm
If I concede in 1v1 after my opponent has left, will the game simply cancel?
...it might cancel, it might give you the win, or it might crash. Link me if you find out.

MadMarx
Gold Donator
Gold Donator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:01 am
Karma: 148

Re: Question about conceding

#5 Post by MadMarx » Mon Nov 23, 2020 11:18 pm

jmo1121109 wrote:
Mon Nov 23, 2020 10:18 pm

...it might cancel, it might give you the win, or it might crash. Link me if you find out.
Thanks jmo, here's what I found out from the five games that were left by my opponent:

1. One game was left with no votes cast, the game did *not* immediately end with me winning, but when the next phase processed I was declared the winner.
2. I voted cancel in one game after the opponent left, it immediately canceled.
3. Two games I voted cancel before the other person left, they both canceled once the other person left (without having to wait for another order resolution like in scenario #1).
4. I did not want to find out what would happen if I voted concede after the other player left, so I voted concede just before the other person officially "left" (after they used all three excused absences in a row).

Might have been an interesting experiment, maybe next time! ;-)
1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests