please help me understand how these orders were resolved

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
carlosmonte

please help me understand how these orders were resolved

#1 Post by carlosmonte » Wed Mar 22, 2023 2:25 am

https://webdiplomacy.net/beta/?gameID=574219

I'm new to this game so forgive me if I am asking a basic question. I have a screenshot but I don't see where I can attach it. Turn is autumn of 1912. I was going to lose anyway (one turn away from taking MAR to possible extend it!)

The move I am confused about is WAR to GAL. As I see it, two units are attacking and four are defending, yet the attack won. What am I missing?

Trigfea63
Gold Donator
Gold Donator

Re: please help me understand how these orders were resolved

#2 Post by Trigfea63 » Wed Mar 22, 2023 3:12 am

GAL was ordered to move, so the 3 support-hold orders all failed. A support-hold order is only valid if the supported unit doesn't move. That meant an attack from WAR with a force of 2 against a defense on GAL of 1, and the attack succeeded. If GAL had been ordered to hold, it would have been 2 against 4 as you say, and the attack would have failed.

Tugster

#3 Post by Tugster » Wed Mar 22, 2023 3:21 am

off topic a bit, but the best way to win as turkey from the powerful position you were in in about 1905 is to bypass the Italian SC. Always go full bore for the one spot that will give you the game as turkey => MAO. Because then you get Iberia, and you can clean out the boot of Italy later. This would have prevented the German solo as well. Never slow down to take SC if it costs you MAO.

carlosmonte

#4 Post by carlosmonte » Wed Mar 22, 2023 3:29 am

Trigfea63 wrote:
Wed Mar 22, 2023 3:12 am