Is there a way to post anonymous global messages?

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
Luke_

Is there a way to post anonymous global messages?

#1 Post by Luke_ » Mon Mar 30, 2020 4:59 pm

I'm not new to Diplomacy but I'm new to webdiplomacy.net.

I'm used to playing on another website where you can send anonymouns global messages, which can be helpful when trying to spread rumours etc. Is this an option in the default form of messaging on this website? I can't seem to work out how to do it.

I also can't work out how to send messages to more than one person (but not everyone). For example if I wanted to get in cahoots with Russia and Ukraine, is there a way to start a thread of the three of us instead of just messaging them individually?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Claesar

Re: Is there a way to post anonymous global messages?

#2 Post by Claesar » Mon Mar 30, 2020 5:03 pm

Neither is possible here.

Octavious

#3 Post by Octavious » Mon Mar 30, 2020 8:17 pm

Hi Luke,

Copy and paste is the best way of sending the same message to multiple people. It will take a bit of getting used to and feel clunky at first, but I've always preferred it to Playdip's multi-person messaging system where it's so easy to lose track of who's said what to whom and when.

As for Playdip's anonymous public message option, have you really been in many games where it's not blatantly obvious who's posted them? It has some use in terms of comedy value, but far less so in terms of gameplay.

The best thing webDip has over Playdip is that you won't find the abomination that is a surrender button here.

Enjoy!

Luke_

#4 Post by Luke_ » Tue Mar 31, 2020 4:37 pm