Retreat Question

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Flubberj
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:56 pm
Karma: 3

Retreat Question

#1 Post by Flubberj » Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:21 pm

When a unit is forced to retreat, can they disband when they still have valid places to retreat to?

pyxxy
Gold Donator
Gold Donator
Posts: 88
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2019 5:40 pm
Karma: 94

Re: Retreat Question

#2 Post by pyxxy » Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:24 pm

Yes.

And there can be strategic reasons to do so :) but I'm assuming that's why you asked.

Flubberj
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:56 pm
Karma: 3

Re: Retreat Question

#3 Post by Flubberj » Mon Oct 28, 2019 5:27 pm

Thanks!

Muscovy_Duck
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:35 pm
Karma: 10

Re: Retreat Question

#4 Post by Muscovy_Duck » Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:52 am

I could well be mistaken but I always thought that the original rules permitted voluntary disbandment in the Spring turn regardless of whether or not a unit was caused to retreat.

If the owner retained sufficient supply centres the unit could be replaced by either a fleet or army in the Autumn builds phase.

This option (voluntary Spring disbandment) does not seem to be available in games here.

RoganJosh
Silver Donator
Silver Donator
Posts: 552
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:02 am
Location: Stockholm
Karma: 458
Contact:

Re: Retreat Question

#5 Post by RoganJosh » Tue Nov 05, 2019 10:22 am

You are indeed mistaken.

Claesar
Posts: 1935
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:34 am
Karma: 1455

Re: Retreat Question

#6 Post by Claesar » Tue Nov 05, 2019 12:05 pm

Muscovy_Duck wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 9:52 am
I could well be mistaken but I always thought that the original rules permitted voluntary disbandment in the Spring turn regardless of whether or not a unit was caused to retreat.

If the owner retained sufficient supply centres the unit could be replaced by either a fleet or army in the Autumn builds phase.
This is all correct.
This option (voluntary Spring disbandment) does not seem to be available in games here.
It is. Change the 'Retreat' dop-down box to 'Disband' instead.

gimix
Site Moderator
Site Moderator
Posts: 265
Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:56 am
Location: My Mountains, the highest in Europe
Karma: 263

Re: Retreat Question

#7 Post by gimix » Tue Nov 05, 2019 1:21 pm

Claesar wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 12:05 pm
It is. Change the 'Retreat' dop-down box to 'Disband' instead.
I think Muscovy was talking about voluntarily disbanding even if you don't have to retreat - ie when "You have no orders to submit for this phase" or the retreats phase simply doesn't take place at all.

In that case there's no option and i believe RoganJosh is right - original rules never encompassed that option

Muscovy_Duck
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:35 pm
Karma: 10

Re: Retreat Question

#8 Post by Muscovy_Duck » Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:26 pm

Thanks for the advice on this.

Yes, I was asking about disbandment DURING THE ORDERS PHASE of the SPRING TURN. But it would be equally valid if applied to non-displaced units after the Spring moves.

It must have been a House Rule in my first ever face-to-face game. Should have insisted on reading the rules!

I think the 'Gamemaster' had Russia and miraculously converted several fleets used to destroy England into a large Army!

Claesar
Posts: 1935
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:34 am
Karma: 1455

Re: Retreat Question

#9 Post by Claesar » Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:54 pm

Muscovy_Duck wrote:
Tue Nov 05, 2019 3:26 pm
Thanks for the advice on this.

Yes, I was asking about disbandment DURING THE ORDERS PHASE of the SPRING TURN. But it would be equally valid if applied to non-displaced units after the Spring moves.

It must have been a House Rule in my first ever face-to-face game. Should have insisted on reading the rules!

I think the 'Gamemaster' had Russia and miraculously converted several fleets used to destroy England into a large Army!
That's definitely not in the rules.

Muscovy_Duck
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 9:35 pm
Karma: 10

Re: Retreat Question

#10 Post by Muscovy_Duck » Tue Nov 05, 2019 4:46 pm

Thought so.

Should have smelt a rat at the time!
1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests