GPT-4 & Diplomacy

General discussions that don't fit in other forums can go here.
Forum rules
Feel free to discuss any topics here. Please use the Politics sub-forum for political conversations. While most topics will be allowed please be sure to be respectful and follow our normal site rules at http://www.webdiplomacy.net/rules.php.
Esquire Bertissimmo

GPT-4 & Diplomacy

#1 Post by Esquire Bertissimmo » Sat Jul 15, 2023 7:02 pm

Hope I haven't been breaking the rules, but for fun and in a very non-systematic way I chat with GPT about some Diplomacy games.

GPT-4 in particular seems quite familiar with the game (though I'm not an expert myself) and appears to give fairly solid gunboat-relevant advice if you feed it the turn logs.

Of course, you can also feed it press and ask it questions. GPT-3 was pretty bad at this, but 4 comes back with some interesting (though understandably tentative and inconclusive) ideas about other players' motivations, trustworthiness, etc.

Should this be considered cheating? In some ways it's like having a mentored game and consulting with forums and books on strategy, only in a very rapid way.

If it's cheating, how could it be stopped? I anticipate this software will be extremely widely adopted in the near future.

Below is GPT's own assessment of how it might help a player improve at Diplomacy:

Strategic Analysis: GPT-4 can help you analyze the game board, taking into account the positions of all players, your own resources and strategic possibilities. It could suggest moves, analyze your potential responses to the moves of other players, and predict likely future scenarios based on historical data from the game.

Simulation: GPT-4 can help you simulate possible game scenarios. This can be particularly useful when considering your strategic options or when trying to anticipate the moves of other players. By running through a range of scenarios, you can prepare yourself for a variety of possible developments in the game.