How to change the number of players ?

General discussions that don't fit in other forums can go here.
Forum rules
Feel free to discuss any topics here. Please use the Politics sub-forum for political conversations. While most topics will be allowed please be sure to be respectful and follow our normal site rules at http://www.webdiplomacy.net/rules.php.
Post Reply
Message
Author
LZX
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:38 pm
Karma: 3

How to change the number of players ?

#1 Post by LZX » Fri May 01, 2020 9:53 am

Hi,

I'm new and tried to look for the answer but haven't found it.
How can you set the number of player when you create a new game ?

Thanks !!
1

Doshy II
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri Jan 05, 2018 1:42 pm
Karma: 45

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#2 Post by Doshy II » Fri May 01, 2020 10:58 am

Hi,

I'm afraid you can't, each variant of the game has a set number of players. You can pick between them - there's two 2 player ones, a 5 player one, a 7 player, a 10 player, a 17 player and even a 34 player (and one more I've forgotten). There's more info on the Help page under Variants I think.

Hope this helps
3

Claesar
Posts: 1960
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:34 am
Karma: 1479

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#3 Post by Claesar » Fri May 01, 2020 11:25 am

LZX wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 9:53 am
Hi,

I'm new and tried to look for the answer but haven't found it.
How can you set the number of player when you create a new game ?

Thanks !!
That's not possible in our site. I believe our sister site vDiplomacy.com has variants for every number of players.

Alternatively, if you host a game without press you can have bots added to fill up the numbers.
1

yavuzovic
Posts: 2877
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:42 pm
Location: Sakarya/Turkey
Karma: 564
Contact:

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#4 Post by yavuzovic » Fri May 01, 2020 11:53 am

For less than 7 players, you can try to create a Classic game with bot settings. I don't remember how to do this but there are special settings that allow you to play with bots while there are more than one player in.
3

LZX
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:38 pm
Karma: 3

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#5 Post by LZX » Fri May 01, 2020 5:11 pm

Thanks.
I'll try to play on Ancient Mediterranean.

If i chose 8h phase length and a 14 days time to fill game, the game ends after 42 turns, correct ?
1

Claesar
Posts: 1960
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:34 am
Karma: 1479

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#6 Post by Claesar » Fri May 01, 2020 5:56 pm

LZX wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 5:11 pm
Thanks.
I'll try to play on Ancient Mediterranean.

If i chose 8h phase length and a 14 days time to fill game, the game ends after 42 turns, correct ?
No, it means you have a maximum of 14 days to find 5 players, or the game will be cancelled. There are no enforced end limits.

8h phase lengths are quite ambitious, as it sometimes impacts your sleep.

LZX
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:38 pm
Karma: 3

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#7 Post by LZX » Fri May 01, 2020 6:06 pm

I want to make a long game in which people have time to communicate by messages, plan strategies, alliances and coup.

If it's less than 8h, there will be a turn during sleep time.

So either the game should have to be resolved in on day (16/18h).
Either i could go for 12h phase length.

What settings would you suggest ?

tobieee911
Silver Donator
Silver Donator
Posts: 288
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:43 pm
Location: The netherlands
Karma: 197

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#8 Post by tobieee911 » Fri May 01, 2020 6:42 pm

LZX wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 6:06 pm
I want to make a long game in which people have time to communicate by messages, plan strategies, alliances and coup.

If it's less than 8h, there will be a turn during sleep time.

So either the game should have to be resolved in on day (16/18h).
Either i could go for 12h phase length.

What settings would you suggest ?

The most games have phases of 24hours or 36hours

LZX
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:38 pm
Karma: 3

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#9 Post by LZX » Fri May 01, 2020 7:30 pm

Great !! Thanks !!

Deinodon
Bronze Donator
Bronze Donator
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2018 4:54 pm
Location: Orcutt California
Karma: 51

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#10 Post by Deinodon » Sun May 03, 2020 6:29 am

yavuzovic wrote:
Fri May 01, 2020 11:53 am
For less than 7 players, you can try to create a Classic game with bot settings. I don't remember how to do this but there are special settings that allow you to play with bots while there are more than one player in.
Hey guys, I've been gone awhile, and I come back and there are bots! I heard a podcast about the development of the bots, pretty cool.
So, I was poking around trying to figure out how to start a game with some humans and a bot or two, and I can't figure out where you find those settings. I ended up starting a bot game with just me and six bots (which is not what I wanted to do).
Also, I was wondering about the names of the bots. Are the different named bots actually unique from each other? Are their differences in their play?

Thanks.

Claesar
Posts: 1960
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:34 am
Karma: 1479

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#11 Post by Claesar » Sun May 03, 2020 11:04 am

Deinodon wrote:
Sun May 03, 2020 6:29 am
Hey guys, I've been gone awhile, and I come back and there are bots! I heard a podcast about the development of the bots, pretty cool.
So, I was poking around trying to figure out how to start a game with some humans and a bot or two, and I can't figure out where you find those settings. I ended up starting a bot game with just me and six bots (which is not what I wanted to do).
Also, I was wondering about the names of the bots. Are the different named bots actually unique from each other? Are their differences in their play?

Thanks.
WHen you create a new game and select No Messaging, an option to fill up with bots will appear at the top.

There are two different personalities in the bots (I'll dub them aggressive and carebear). They're distributed at random amongst the bots in the game. The names don't mean a thing.
1

Squigs44
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4003
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:50 pm
Location: OKC
Karma: 2007

Re: How to change the number of players ?

#12 Post by Squigs44 » Sun May 03, 2020 6:03 pm

Note that the game must be both classic map and no messaging for the fill with bots check box to pop up. Also note that the game will default to anonymous, unranked, 5 point bet.
2

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest