Discord Bot for Notifications

Developers and contributors can find a link to our github page and engage in development project planning here.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Skype
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 9:14 pm
Karma: 5
Contact:

Discord Bot for Notifications

#1 Post by Skype » Sun Jun 28, 2020 12:31 am

I created a discord bot to provide notifications for in-game press and new turn alerts. Our group is wrapping up a game after using it and it worked pretty well for a classic variant game that was 1 day/turn. If you're interested in trying it out you can add it to your server here: https://github.com/Jerusus/discordwebdiplomacy

The bot sets up press message notifications by storing your login cookies, so if you're worried about that you can fork the repo and host the bot yourself with AWS dynamodb. Alternatively you can use only the server channel features which tell you about new turns and not the press notifications.
5

swordsman3003
Gold Donator
Gold Donator
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:51 pm
Location: Texas
Karma: 607
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#2 Post by swordsman3003 » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:23 pm

Hey I am trying to get this to work on my Discord server, but I'm unfamiliar with how Bots work. I have the bot on my server. How do I subscribe it to a match?

Squigs44
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4003
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:50 pm
Location: OKC
Karma: 2010
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#3 Post by Squigs44 » Tue Jun 30, 2020 3:33 pm

From their documentation it looks like you use the command set to hook a channel up to a specific game. So:

d.set [gameID]

It looks like you have to configure the bot first, not sure if you have done that. You can use d.help to get available commands.

swordsman3003
Gold Donator
Gold Donator
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:51 pm
Location: Texas
Karma: 607
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#4 Post by swordsman3003 » Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:05 pm

Man maybe I'm running into the limits of my tech skills, but like what do you mean by "using" d.help? I tried sending "d.help" as a message to the bot after getting the bot to appear on my server, but nothing happens.

Squigs44
Developer
Developer
Posts: 4003
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:50 pm
Location: OKC
Karma: 2010
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#5 Post by Squigs44 » Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:26 pm

swordsman3003 wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 8:05 pm
Man maybe I'm running into the limits of my tech skills, but like what do you mean by "using" d.help? I tried sending "d.help" as a message to the bot after getting the bot to appear on my server, but nothing happens.
Well then you either didn't set the bot up correctly or its broken. I couldn't tell you which without more info
1

swordsman3003
Gold Donator
Gold Donator
Posts: 264
Joined: Tue Jan 02, 2018 2:51 pm
Location: Texas
Karma: 607
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#6 Post by swordsman3003 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:13 pm

Okay I got the bot going today without doing anything different. I'm not sure what changed.

Now I have the problem that it's giving like a notification every 10 minutes for the same game, it's going nuts!! haha

BunnyGo
Posts: 13635
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:21 am
Karma: 4457
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#7 Post by BunnyGo » Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:36 pm

swordsman3003 wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:13 pm
Okay I got the bot going today without doing anything different. I'm not sure what changed.

Now I have the problem that it's giving like a notification every 10 minutes for the same game, it's going nuts!! haha
It saw you were thinking it wouldn’t do anything. So it’s making up for lost time.

Skype
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 9:14 pm
Karma: 5
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#8 Post by Skype » Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:29 am

swordsman3003 wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 2:13 pm
Okay I got the bot going today without doing anything different. I'm not sure what changed.

Now I have the problem that it's giving like a notification every 10 minutes for the same game, it's going nuts!! haha
Hey thanks for checking out my bot! I'm still doing active development so maybe that's why you were noticing some odd behaviors. But I'm happy to help troubleshoot any issues you might have with it. Feel free to message me on Discord, my ID is Jerusus#0019.

Skype
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 9:14 pm
Karma: 5
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#9 Post by Skype » Thu Jul 02, 2020 1:33 am

And for those that don't know already, there's an official webDip Discord server: https://discord.gg/f2ram4w

Ducken
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 9:31 am
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#10 Post by Ducken » Fri Oct 15, 2021 10:15 am

Hello!
Bot works on vdiplomacy but not on webdiplomacy
Is there a way to change this?

User avatar
kestasjk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Perth, Australia
Karma: 775
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#11 Post by kestasjk » Tue May 03, 2022 5:13 pm

Very neat, I'll definitely look into this and whether we could add some official support

aphex
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2023 11:19 am
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#12 Post by aphex » Thu Feb 02, 2023 11:55 am

Hi,
having the same issues. I've added the bot wiht the provided link from the github site:
https://discordapp.com/oauth2/authorize ... missions=0

I cannot see it's commands anywhere. When i go server settings and "Integrations"/"Bots" and select "Manage" for the bot, it states "This application has no commands"

captainmeme
Posts: 614
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:06 pm
Location: Manchester, UK
Karma: 759
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#13 Post by captainmeme » Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:05 pm

Discord has updated its bot policy to only allow slash commands iirc, which means a lot of older bots have broken. This is probably the same, unfortunately.

User avatar
kestasjk
Developer
Developer
Posts: 518
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2017 8:13 pm
Location: Perth, Australia
Karma: 775
Contact:

Re: Discord Bot for Notifications

#14 Post by kestasjk » Sat Feb 04, 2023 2:44 am

captainmeme wrote:
Thu Feb 02, 2023 12:05 pm
Discord has updated its bot policy to only allow slash commands iirc, which means a lot of older bots have broken. This is probably the same, unfortunately.
Damn .. note to self, don't write anything for the Discord platform :|

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests