A place to discuss topics/games with other webDiplomacy players.
Start a new discussion in the public forum
Post a new thread
If your post relates to a particular game please include the URL or ID#
of the game.
If you are posting a feature request please check that it isn't mentioned in the todo list.
If you are posting a question please check the FAQ before posting.
If your message is long you may need to write a summary message, and add the full message as a reply.
I'm just getting back in to Diplomacy as I haven't played for a while, and I thought I would start off with a global match. Then I thought it might be even more interesting if it was a World Diplomacy global match.
I just started on this and I need a little help... I joined a match that was scheduled to start in an hour so I closed the screen and left the site, I get on now when it should be starting and I can't find out how to join it, if I look in my games the only ones in there are those that have yet to start... please help
In autumn 1905 of gameID=42802, I believe disbands were improperly adjudicated. Russia was in civil disorder, and had a unit in St. Pete and in Black Sea, yet Black Sea was not disbanded - Sevastopol was.
I didn't expect to win in my first WTA game (I was England), gameID=42868 but I'm suspicious that Turkey gave up on the possibility of winning in Autumn '09 with the simple move F Irish Sea to Lvp. Does this play look odd to anyone else?
Got a note that a user was banned and to see the game for details, but it being a gunboat, there's no chatbox. Still there's a message saying unread messages, but no apparent way to check them. Is this a feature?
I have an army in Gascony, other in Spain, other in Piedmont. The orders i give are: G: move Mars; P: move Mars; S: support hold Gascony. If i'm attacked in Gascony with support move, will the support hold make the fight even and thus i keep gascony, or will it be invalidated since the army has moved (or at least, attemped to)?
I thought I understood this part of the rules, but after looking things up, I've become even more confused. The question is, can a fleet from say Marseilles support a fleet from Gascony to the north coast of Spain?
Technically, when attempted in game here it appears to be possible.
The closest thing I could find was in the support section of the 2008 edition rules. It say's "The province to which a unit is providing support must be one to which the supporting unit could have legally moved during that turn." Technically, a fleet in Marseilles cannot move to the north coast of Spain, so I'd think this would be specific enough.
It also says "A fleet that can move to a province with two separate coasts (a fleet in the Mid-Atlantic, for example) can support another army or fleet into that province (in this case Spain) without regard to separate coastlines."
For some reason there is no specific example that applies to this. Although in the DATC tests for this site there are two examples without pictures: 6.B.4 - Passed TEST CASE, SUPPORT TO UNREACHABLE COAST ALLOWED Thinking about them hurts my head, but I believe that this case means that Marseilles would be allowed to support Gascony to the north coast. 6.B.5 - Passed TEST CASE, SUPPORT FROM UNREACHABLE COAST NOT ALLOWED The second case seems to imply that a fleet on the south coast cannot support a fleet in Gascony?
That is correct. You can support any unit moving TO a location you could move to. You can support hold any unit IN a location you could move to.
Where a unit is coming from is irrelevant for a support move (all the supporting forces do is engage and weaken the enemy from their frontier). For a support hold you have to be able to get there, because your units can be imagined as joining the back of the defensive lines.
"It also says "A fleet that can move to a province with two separate coasts (a fleet in the Mid-Atlantic, for example) can support another army or fleet into that province (in this case Spain) without regard to separate coastlines.""
Marseilles CAN move to spain, it is one province/territory, and it doesn't matter which coast line it can move to as it's only one territory, not two seperate one (north coast Spain and South coast Spain...)
So for example, if a fleet in Gascony moves to spain and a fleet in marseilles moves to Spain (both unsupported) they bounce in Spain - irregardless of which coast they happen to be moving to.
on the other hand, a fleet on the south coast of spain can NOT support gascony to hold, as that fleet can NOT move to gascony from the Spain (sc)