Support Hold Question

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
Post Reply
Message
Author
CrazyCreeperDJ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:19 am
Karma: 1

Support Hold Question

#1 Post by CrazyCreeperDJ » Thu May 03, 2018 12:08 am

Can you support hold a unit that attack/moves but fails?
1

peterlund
Posts: 590
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 4:52 pm
Location: Sverige
Karma: 96
Contact:

Re: Support Hold Question

#2 Post by peterlund » Thu May 03, 2018 12:21 am

No. You can only support hold a unit that holds, convoys or supports...
2

CrazyCreeperDJ
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2018 12:19 am
Karma: 1

Re: Support Hold Question

#3 Post by CrazyCreeperDJ » Thu May 03, 2018 12:25 am

Thank You!

ziran
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 3:21 am
Karma: 43
Contact:

Re: Support Hold Question

#4 Post by ziran » Thu May 03, 2018 4:31 am

what you can do is order a supported move from two or more adjacent provinces to the province that you want to move from. this is because you can not dislodge you're own units.

lets say you want to move WES-Spa, but you think France might move MAO-WES supported by Spa. you can order Naf-WES supported by TYR. Naf bounces MAO, and Wes stays put.

JECE
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:35 pm
Karma: 35
Contact:

Re: Support Hold Question

#5 Post by JECE » Thu May 03, 2018 4:50 pm

CrazyCreeperDJ: Thanks for the question! peterlund is correct. When I first read the rules years ago, I also thought that you could support a unit from being dislodged as long as any move this unit made failed. I used that interpretation in the first few one-on-one games that I played with my father.

ziran provides an alternative strategy that serves the same function, but of course it requires two units behind your lines rather than just one unit.

SirThursday
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:09 pm
Karma: 15

Re: Support Hold Question

#6 Post by SirThursday » Thu May 03, 2018 9:27 pm

No; the key is in the name; Support "Hold". Essentially, any order which is not "move" can be written as "Hold and ___". For instance, a unit using the "Convoy" order can be Support-held because "Convoy" is essentially "Hold and convoy". But no unit can "Stay Put and Move", so if you try to move, there is no "hold" order to be supported

JECE
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 4:35 pm
Karma: 35
Contact:

Re: Support Hold Question

#7 Post by JECE » Fri May 04, 2018 4:13 pm

SirThursday wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 9:27 pm
No; the key is in the name; Support "Hold". Essentially, any order which is not "move" can be written as "Hold and ___". For instance, a unit using the "Convoy" order can be Support-held because "Convoy" is essentially "Hold and convoy". But no unit can "Stay Put and Move", so if you try to move, there is no "hold" order to be supported
That helps if you're playing on webDip, where there's a clear drop-down menu choice between support hold and support move, but the rulebook doesn't make a clear distinction between 'support hold' and 'support move'.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests