Page 1 of 1

Question regarding rules: supported attack on unsupported supporting unit

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:33 pm
by Dovm
Hey everyone,

I have a physical copy of Diplomacy and read through the rules, but I got into a situation that I found unclear and I'm not sure I resolved correctly (played face-to-face this weekend).

Austria and Turkey were working in an alliance against Russia.
Austria had A bud, Turkey A bul

Russia: A rum, F BLA

Orders:
Austria: A bud - rum

Turkey: A bul S bud - rum

Russia: A rum - bul, F BLA S rum - bul

We thought of this as a 2 vs 2 power battle leaving everyone in place, but afterwards I thought maybe the correct thing would have been that rum - bul succeeded, as bul did not have defensive support, and then bud could go into rum unopposed as rum moves to bul. Leaving Austria in Rumania and Russia in Bulgaria. Thoughts? Did we make a mistake leaving the situation as a stalemate?

Re: Question regarding rules: supported attack on unsupported supporting unit

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:44 pm
by yomammaxxl
Your second interpretation is correct: both moves should have succeeded, with the army in Bulgaria being forced to retreat.

Re: Question regarding rules: supported attack on unsupported supporting unit

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:06 pm
by Dovm
Yeah, I thought so. Thanks for the clarification. It seems logical now, but in the heat of the game, even the rules sometimes become difficult to see clearly! We're all still a bit new too. Anyway, glad to be sure of it now.

Re: Question regarding rules: supported attack on unsupported supporting unit

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:32 pm
by micha
Unless there’s an active, uncut support hold on bulgaria (perhaps from Constantinople)...then I think A Rumania is dislodged, right? That wasn’t mentioned in the initial post but I think that’s a pretty common situation.

Bud-rum should succeed in either case -unless- bul is dislodged AND another unit attempts to move into rum.