Question regarding rules: supported attack on unsupported supporting unit

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Dovm
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:47 am
Karma: 2

Question regarding rules: supported attack on unsupported supporting unit

#1 Post by Dovm » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:33 pm

Hey everyone,

I have a physical copy of Diplomacy and read through the rules, but I got into a situation that I found unclear and I'm not sure I resolved correctly (played face-to-face this weekend).

Austria and Turkey were working in an alliance against Russia.
Austria had A bud, Turkey A bul

Russia: A rum, F BLA

Orders:
Austria: A bud - rum

Turkey: A bul S bud - rum

Russia: A rum - bul, F BLA S rum - bul

We thought of this as a 2 vs 2 power battle leaving everyone in place, but afterwards I thought maybe the correct thing would have been that rum - bul succeeded, as bul did not have defensive support, and then bud could go into rum unopposed as rum moves to bul. Leaving Austria in Rumania and Russia in Bulgaria. Thoughts? Did we make a mistake leaving the situation as a stalemate?
2

yomammaxxl
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 4:01 pm
Karma: 8

Re: Question regarding rules: supported attack on unsupported supporting unit

#2 Post by yomammaxxl » Tue Aug 13, 2019 3:44 pm

Your second interpretation is correct: both moves should have succeeded, with the army in Bulgaria being forced to retreat.
2

Dovm
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2018 11:47 am
Karma: 2

Re: Question regarding rules: supported attack on unsupported supporting unit

#3 Post by Dovm » Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:06 pm

Yeah, I thought so. Thanks for the clarification. It seems logical now, but in the heat of the game, even the rules sometimes become difficult to see clearly! We're all still a bit new too. Anyway, glad to be sure of it now.

micha
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:22 am
Karma: 9

Re: Question regarding rules: supported attack on unsupported supporting unit

#4 Post by micha » Tue Aug 13, 2019 9:32 pm

Unless there’s an active, uncut support hold on bulgaria (perhaps from Constantinople)...then I think A Rumania is dislodged, right? That wasn’t mentioned in the initial post but I think that’s a pretty common situation.

Bud-rum should succeed in either case -unless- bul is dislodged AND another unit attempts to move into rum.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest