Clarification on order resolution

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
Post Reply
Message
Author
marperra
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:19 pm
Location: Italy
Karma: 10

Clarification on order resolution

#1 Post by marperra » Mon Jun 10, 2019 7:53 am

In a game I've played, we had these orders:

Country Alpha:
A->B
C support A->B
D->A

Country Beta:
B->A

These orders were resolved this way:
the Beta unit in B tries to go to A, but is standoffed by Alpha unit moving from D. Then, the Beta unit in B is dislodged by the attack from A, supported from C. So far, it's clear.

Now, that's my doubt: does Alpha unit in D succeed in moving to A? Shouldn't it be standoffed by the Beta unit, even if the latter is dislogded by other units?

Carl Tuckerson
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:23 pm
Karma: 270

Re: Clarification on order resolution

#2 Post by Carl Tuckerson » Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:06 am

Units D and B did not stand off in Province A. Unit B's move to Province A failed because Unit A moved to Province B with superior force. When two neighboring units move to each other's provinces via the same method* and one unit has greater force supporting it, the weaker unit's move effectively didn't occur, and thus does not prevent another unobstructed unit from moving to the same province.


*: I know this applies for movements occurring by land, but I'm not sure how convoys affect things. I know that neighboring units can "switch places" if one moves by convoy and one moves by land, but I've not seen this situation occur with supports and a backfill. I think you get the same mostly intuitive result (stronger unit wins, weaker unit's move doesn't affect things; if equal power, standoff) but I can't say for sure.
2

marperra
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:19 pm
Location: Italy
Karma: 10

Re: Clarification on order resolution

#3 Post by marperra » Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:25 am

Thanks, Carl.
So, correct me if I am wrong:

B->A fails not because of a standoff, but because B is dislodged by an attack coming from A. So, even if there was no D->A, B couldn't go to A. (The famous rule "A dislodged unit has no effect on the province that dislodged it").

On the other hand, a dislodged unit CAN cause a standoff in a province different from the one it was dislodged from, so if the orders were:

Country Alpha:
A->B
C support A->B
D->E

Country Beta:
B->E

B would have been dislodged the same, of course, but would have created a standoff in E, and D->E wouldn't succeed.

Am I right?

Squigs44
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2697
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:50 pm
Location: America
Karma: 938

Re: Clarification on order resolution

#4 Post by Squigs44 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:52 am

This is covered in 6.E.1 in the DATC (found here).
3

Squigs44
Developer
Developer
Posts: 2697
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:50 pm
Location: America
Karma: 938

Re: Clarification on order resolution

#5 Post by Squigs44 » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:04 am

And I believe 6.E.5 addresses your second scenario (although the example given is a bit more complicated).
D->E would not succeed.
2

marperra
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:19 pm
Location: Italy
Karma: 10

Re: Clarification on order resolution

#6 Post by marperra » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:16 am

Thanks Squigs!

Carl Tuckerson
Posts: 432
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 8:23 pm
Karma: 270

Re: Clarification on order resolution

#7 Post by Carl Tuckerson » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:22 am

marperra wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:25 am
Thanks, Carl.
So, correct me if I am wrong:

B->A fails not because of a standoff, but because B is dislodged by an attack coming from A. So, even if there was no D->A, B couldn't go to A. (The famous rule "A dislodged unit has no effect on the province that dislodged it").

On the other hand, a dislodged unit CAN cause a standoff in a province different from the one it was dislodged from, so if the orders were:

Country Alpha:
A->B
C support A->B
D->E

Country Beta:
B->E

B would have been dislodged the same, of course, but would have created a standoff in E, and D->E wouldn't succeed.

Am I right?
Correct! This situation comes up routinely; you'll want to remember that this situation resolves this way, because sometimes the difference between retaking a captured province and losing it permanently is your ability to stall a critical reinforcing unit on your way out of the province.

marperra
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Apr 02, 2019 2:19 pm
Location: Italy
Karma: 10

Re: Clarification on order resolution

#8 Post by marperra » Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:27 am

Last thing: in the second scenario, because of the standoff, B couldn't retire to E (and neither, of course, to A).

BobMcBob
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:28 am
Location: Also Not Austalia
Karma: 144

Re: Clarification on order resolution

#9 Post by BobMcBob » Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:08 am

marperra wrote:
Mon Jun 10, 2019 9:27 am
Last thing: in the second scenario, because of the standoff, B couldn't retire to E (and neither, of course, to A).
Exactly right. I think you're getting the hang of this.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest