Can You Support An Attack On Your Own Unit?

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
Post Reply
Message
Author
ChippeRock
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:36 pm
Karma: 68

Can You Support An Attack On Your Own Unit?

#1 Post by ChippeRock » Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:45 pm

For example, let's say you have French army in Edinburgh, a French army in Edinburgh, and a English fleet in Clyde. And let's also assume there are no adjacent units to the listed units.

Can France successfully support England into Edinburgh from Clyde? Or does it bounce?

ChippeRock
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:36 pm
Karma: 68

Re: Can You Support An Attack On Your Own Unit?

#2 Post by ChippeRock » Mon Jul 02, 2018 6:51 pm

My bad, I meant to say the following:

For example, let's say you have French army in Clyde, a French army in Liverpool, and a English fleet in Edinburgh. And let's also assume there are no adjacent units to the listed units.

Can France successfully support England into Clyde from Edinburgh using Liverpool? Or does it bounce?

dargorygel
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 588
Joined: Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:55 pm
Location: Over the rainbow
Karma: 186
Contact:

Re: Can You Support An Attack On Your Own Unit?

#3 Post by dargorygel » Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:04 pm

It will not be successful. It is, in effect, an attempt to self-dislodge. Can't do that... I sometimes wish you could!
1

Foxcastle
Posts: 1002
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:48 pm
Location: Night Vale
Karma: 50

Re: Can You Support An Attack On Your Own Unit?

#4 Post by Foxcastle » Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:54 pm

Yeah, you can't self-dislodge, but supporting your own attack on a province you already occupy can be a useful tactic. So just because it won't work doesn't mean it's not useful!
1

ChippeRock
Posts: 236
Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:36 pm
Karma: 68

Re: Can You Support An Attack On Your Own Unit?

#5 Post by ChippeRock » Mon Jul 02, 2018 10:30 pm

Foxcastle wrote:
Mon Jul 02, 2018 7:54 pm
Yeah, you can't self-dislodge, but supporting your own attack on a province you already occupy can be a useful tactic. So just because it won't work doesn't mean it's not useful!
Apparently playing 238 games and being ranked 126th on this site by GR doesn't make you exempt from being taught how to do a support move...

eturnage
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:31 pm
Karma: 16

Re: Can You Support An Attack On Your Own Unit?

#6 Post by eturnage » Fri Jul 06, 2018 10:13 pm

Beleaguered support is a fine way to use your forward units to cut into an opponents' supports by attacking while still protecting the space the attacking unit occupies with a supported attack. The unit won't be dislodged by your attack. It can only be dislodged if your opponents put greater support into their own attack on the space.
1

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest