Rule Question

New players can go here for helpful advice and to sign up for our mentor program, or if you're a veteran help answer questions.
Forum rules
This is an area for new members or members looking for help with the site or Diplomacy. Off topic threads and replies will be moved to the appropriate category.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Flubberj
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:56 pm
Karma: 3

Rule Question

#1 Post by Flubberj » Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:04 pm

So here's my question,

If you say, order Ionian to Apulia expecting a bounce, then also have Aegan issue a support hold order to Ionian

Then Rome moves to Apulia, bouncing you out

If there were a support attack on the Ionian, say Tunis supported by Naples, would you hold or would the Ionian be captured?
1

Flubberj
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:56 pm
Karma: 3

Re: Rule Question

#2 Post by Flubberj » Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:14 pm

Followup really quick, if in this instance Ionian had supported Rome to Apulia, would that change the outcome?

BunnyGo
Posts: 1714
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:21 am
Karma: 87

Re: Rule Question

#3 Post by BunnyGo » Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:04 am

Flubberj wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:04 pm
So here's my question,

If you say, order Ionian to Apulia expecting a bounce, then also have Aegan issue a support hold order to Ionian

Then Rome moves to Apulia, bouncing you out

If there were a support attack on the Ionian, say Tunis supported by Naples, would you hold or would the Ionian be captured?
A unit which has a move order cannot receive support to hold, regardless of whether they successfully move.
2

BunnyGo
Posts: 1714
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:21 am
Karma: 87

Re: Rule Question

#4 Post by BunnyGo » Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:04 am

Flubberj wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:14 pm
Followup really quick, if in this instance Ionian had supported Rome to Apulia, would that change the outcome?
A unit with a hold or support order CAN receive support to hold.
2

BunnyGo
Posts: 1714
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:21 am
Karma: 87

Re: Rule Question

#5 Post by BunnyGo » Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:05 am

BunnyGo wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:04 am
Flubberj wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:14 pm
Followup really quick, if in this instance Ionian had supported Rome to Apulia, would that change the outcome?
A unit with a hold or support order CAN receive support to hold.
But they will not successfully *give* support if they are attacked.

Flubberj
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:56 pm
Karma: 3

Re: Rule Question

#6 Post by Flubberj » Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:18 am

Thank you! That clears everything up quite well.

BunnyGo
Posts: 1714
Joined: Thu Jul 18, 2019 12:21 am
Karma: 87

Re: Rule Question

#7 Post by BunnyGo » Mon Dec 02, 2019 4:29 am

BunnyGo wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:05 am
BunnyGo wrote:
Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:04 am
Flubberj wrote:
Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:14 pm
Followup really quick, if in this instance Ionian had supported Rome to Apulia, would that change the outcome?
A unit with a hold or support order CAN receive support to hold.
But they will not successfully *give* support if they are attacked.
UNLESS they are attacked by the unit they are supporting an attack on AND they are not dislodged.

A -> C
B sup A ->C
C -> B

Then C doesn't dislodge B AND B is still able to support the attack.

Flubberj
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2019 4:56 pm
Karma: 3

Re: Rule Question

#8 Post by Flubberj » Mon Dec 02, 2019 11:11 am

That last bit is the trickiest but still quite helpful
2

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest