Mafia XL Signup

If you have a game you want to play on the forum, you can do so here.
Forum rules
This is an area for forum games. Please note that to support mafia games players cannot edit their own posts in this forum. Off Topic threads will be relocated or deleted. Issues taking place in forum games should be dealt with by respective game GMs and escalated to the moderators only if absolutely necessary.
Locked
Message
Author
Foxcastle
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:48 pm
Location: Night Vale
Karma: 168

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#101 Post by Foxcastle » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:52 pm

dargorygel wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:25 pm
Reading between the lines...is Brain Co-GMing?
:lol: Yep, Brain is co-gm'ing (which is in the initial announcement). But it's not just Brain pushing this, I think it's a good idea and a good rule too, for reasons I briefly laid out.

The intention isn't to "force" players to read their PM or to create a cumbersome check-in process to confirm it. (Which is why the decision was to simply add it to the rules and continue to play by the honor system.) The goal was to get consensus that not reading one's role PM from the start of game is not a valid game strategy. Part of what prompted this is that when Squigs announced he hadn't read his role PM in the Cultafia game, there were some questions about whether or not that was within the rules. I think that's telling.

I'm interested in hearing more opinions. If there's strong support for the rule, I'll implement it. If there's mostly opposition, or if people aren't sure and want to discuss it elsewhere, I can let it drop and play the long game (:smirk:). I want Mafia XL to be fun and people to enjoy the game, and certainly don't want Mafia XL to be remembered as that time we rules lawyered a game to death in the signup thread.

Foxcastle
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:48 pm
Location: Night Vale
Karma: 168

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#102 Post by Foxcastle » Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:59 pm

Also, if I haven't mentioned... only three more slots!

(Lest people forget that this is a signup thread...)

1. Durga
2. worcej
3. xorxes
4. RagingIke297
5. rdrivera2005
6. thdfrance
7. damo666
8. ND
9. ghug
10. yavuzovic
11. peterlund
12. Tom Bombadil
13. Squigs44
14. DemonRHK
15. bozo
16. Vecna
17. bo
18. Jamiet99uk
19.
20.
21.

Substitutes

A. Nephthys
B.

Balki Bartokomous
Posts: 827
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:15 am
Location: Island of Mypos
Karma: 34

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#103 Post by Balki Bartokomous » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:05 pm

I will play. Cause whatever.
2

Balki Bartokomous
Posts: 827
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 5:15 am
Location: Island of Mypos
Karma: 34

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#104 Post by Balki Bartokomous » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:19 pm

But I am going to play using a dark, sarcastic, and malicious tone.
2

Foxcastle
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:48 pm
Location: Night Vale
Karma: 168

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#105 Post by Foxcastle » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:25 pm

Balki Bartokomous wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:19 pm
But I am going to play using a dark, sarcastic, and malicious tone.
All three of those slots are already taken (see signups above). "Impertinent" is available, though.
1

Foxcastle
Posts: 1235
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2017 11:48 pm
Location: Night Vale
Karma: 168

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#106 Post by Foxcastle » Thu Oct 18, 2018 10:26 pm

1. Durga
2. worcej
3. xorxes
4. RagingIke297
5. rdrivera2005
6. thdfrance
7. damo666
8. ND
9. ghug
10. yavuzovic
11. peterlund
12. Tom Bombadil
13. Squigs44
14. DemonRHK
15. bozo
16. Vecna
17. bo
18. Jamiet99uk
19. Balki Bartokomous
20.
21.

Substitutes

A. Nephthys
B.

brainbomb
Posts: 4500
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: Rodoripol
Karma: 402

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#107 Post by brainbomb » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:01 pm

One strategy I had felt would eliminate 2 problems with 1 stone was to send out role pms a day early and you CONFIRM in the sign up youve received your PM and read it. and thats the confirmation phase
1

brainbomb
Posts: 4500
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: Rodoripol
Karma: 402

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#108 Post by brainbomb » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:03 pm

-eliminates people gaming their PM
-eliminates the confirming 6 days early phase
-lets GM team know at start of game who needs to be subbed as opposed to N1
1

brainbomb
Posts: 4500
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: Rodoripol
Karma: 402

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#109 Post by brainbomb » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:03 pm

how do people feel about that?

brainbomb
Posts: 4500
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: Rodoripol
Karma: 402

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#110 Post by brainbomb » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:04 pm

I dont think getting a role PM 2 days before a game starts should be an issue. yall arent allowed to talk outside the game anyway lol

brainbomb
Posts: 4500
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: Rodoripol
Karma: 402

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#111 Post by brainbomb » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:06 pm

actually screw it how bout we just make it a rule not be assholes.
2

xorxes
Posts: 727
Joined: Sun Dec 31, 2017 9:45 am
Karma: 120

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#112 Post by xorxes » Thu Oct 18, 2018 11:56 pm

Foxcastle wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 4:45 pm
Sorry, rdrivera! Didn't mean to leave you out of the time change fun... I see that in addition to the Europeans shifting their clocks a week ahead of the US, clocks in Brazil are shifting on the same day as the US but in a different direction.

Here is what deadlines would look like if we simply stick to the US time change. If this is problematic for anyone, we can try to work out an alternative.

Start —> Saturday, October 27

5:00 PM Eastern Time (US)
6:00 PM BRT (Brazil)
10:00 PM GMT (London)
11:00 PM CET (Sweden)
12:00 Midnight Turkey

Sunday, October 28 —> Saturday, November 3

5:00 PM Eastern Time (US)
6:00 PM BRT (Brazil)
9:00 PM GMT (London)
10:00 PM CET (Sweden)
12:00 Midnight Turkey

Sunday, November 4 —> Conclusion

5:00 PM Eastern Time (US)
8:00 PM BRT (Brazil)
10:00 PM GMT (London)
11:00 PM CET (Sweden)
1:00 AM Turkey Time
But now *I'm* feeling left out... :cry:

rdrivera2005
Posts: 1010
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:17 pm
Location: Porto Alegre, Brasil
Karma: 41

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#113 Post by rdrivera2005 » Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:31 am

bo_sox48 wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 5:34 pm
Foxcastle wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:13 pm
And the addition is definitely not a dig at Squigs. Actually, I'm kinda calling myself out here, because I've considered not reading my PM as a strategy to keep my Day 1 "clean" before, too. (Great minds think alike, eh Squigs!) But Brainbomb's point that you can't actually play to your win condition if you don't know what your win condition is was very striking to me, and I think it's worth clarifying.
That’s all great, but I’m not reading my role PM until I feel it is necessary to do so in order to play to my win condition, which depending on what roles I could draw is not always on day 1. There is often nothing on day 1 except scumhunting, which I do the same way regardless of my role, and often nothing about my role PM that is necessary in order to play to my win condition. If it is necessary to read on day 1, it can wait almost always until the end of the day is near. This is how I have always done it and I don’t suppose you would consider me one to play against my win condition.

If you want me to lie to you before the game starts, though, I am happy to do so. Just let me know.
What is Mafia without some drama :eyeroll:

Durga
Posts: 2264
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:01 pm
Location: Canada
Karma: 292

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#114 Post by Durga » Fri Oct 19, 2018 12:45 am

**YOU ARE NOT ALLOWED TO NOT READ YOUR ROLE PM**

Jesus fucking christ do you even mafia. Don't game the system. Town cannot potential FIND YOU IF YOU DON'T KNOW YOU'RE SCUM. That is straight up cheating Bo_Sox and it is absolutely not fair for one side. We've addressed this before. And if he's talking about lying and not reading it anyway, just remove him from the game. It's ridiculous that he's ok with not following the rules.
2

brainbomb
Posts: 4500
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: Rodoripol
Karma: 402

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#115 Post by brainbomb » Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:15 am

You guys are cracking me up.

brainbomb
Posts: 4500
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 3:20 pm
Location: Rodoripol
Karma: 402

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#116 Post by brainbomb » Fri Oct 19, 2018 2:32 am

We cant adjudicate things we cant prove. Please read your role pms and dont start talking about them in game or anywhere.

Squigs44
Posts: 1026
Joined: Thu Jul 12, 2018 11:50 pm
Karma: 76

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#117 Post by Squigs44 » Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:05 am

Well, my reaction test definitely got a reaction... After the game is over and the next one is starting. Sorry yall
1

Durga
Posts: 2264
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2017 6:01 pm
Location: Canada
Karma: 292

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#118 Post by Durga » Fri Oct 19, 2018 4:40 am

Well I'm voting Bo day 1.

bo_sox48
Admin
Admin
Posts: 1099
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 1:01 am
Karma: 308

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#119 Post by bo_sox48 » Fri Oct 19, 2018 5:20 am

¯\_(ツ)_/¯

yavuzovic
Posts: 1578
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 2:42 pm
Location: ↑Here
Karma: 81
Contact:

Re: Mafia XL Signup

#120 Post by yavuzovic » Fri Oct 19, 2018 9:23 am

I will ask every question in my mind. They're not forced townslips or anything, I'm just asking because I don't know.

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests