Italy/Austria in Gunboat

Use this forum to discuss Diplomacy strategy.
Forum rules
This forum is limited to topics relating to the game Diplomacy only. Other posts or topics will be relocated to the correct forum category or deleted. Please be respectful and follow our normal site rules at http://www.webdiplomacy.net/rules.php.
Bark

Italy/Austria in Gunboat

#1 Post by Bark » Thu Mar 21, 2019 3:30 pm

I'm relatively new to gunboat (24h), but the last two games have been dominated by Austria (Draw, but dominate) and Italy (Solo).

How common is this? In both games, the usual alliances never formed and these guys took advantage. I feel like I'm in the Twilight Zone.

peterwiggin
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Italy/Austria in Gunboat

#2 Post by peterwiggin » Thu Mar 21, 2019 4:08 pm

This is pretty rare unless I'm Russia or turkey, in which case my poor play means Austria tends to do very well.

ForGrandFenwick

#4 Post by ForGrandFenwick » Sat Mar 23, 2019 10:37 pm

I was England in the game where you were Russia and Italy took the solo. My strategy was originally anti French, whereas you and Germany seemingly formed an alliance against me, as I was pretty much screwed, I decided to die in a way which denied you Germany and France anything, allowing Italy to take all my centers. Anyway, that was my process during that game.

Bark

#5 Post by Bark » Sun Mar 24, 2019 12:44 am

I understood your motivations completely. I had just played a previous gunboat game where Austria dominated with two other powers, ending in a three-way tie. In that game, Austria had the most centers. Each game individually is one thing but two back-to-back seemed odd.

BTW, you were quite correct in your assessment. I had tried to commit to being anti-Austrian, but Turkey never went along with it. Since Germany seemed agreeable, that's where I had to go.

I will say Italy played this game perfectly though, with both strategy and tactics. That always helps too.

Carl Tuckerson