Search found 15 matches

by rokakoma
Tue Mar 26, 2019 9:03 pm
Forum: Diplomacy Advice
Topic: Does a unit that is defeated still cut off support?
Replies: 10
Views: 1144

Re: Does a unit that is defeated still cut off support?

Claesar wrote:
Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:33 pm
Does this answer the question?

http://www.webdiplomacy.net/datc.php
yes! thx, there are a few more interesting ones ...
by rokakoma
Tue Mar 26, 2019 8:04 pm
Forum: Diplomacy Advice
Topic: Does a unit that is defeated still cut off support?
Replies: 10
Views: 1144

Re: Does a unit that is defeated still cut off support?

Great question! Developers or admins/mods might know the answer, or at least they can try to replicate the paradoxes easily and see what happens. I have no clue how they are resolved ... Thanks for the answer, I've just began playing and it's something that bothered me as well... And are convoy para...
by rokakoma
Sun Mar 24, 2019 5:19 pm
Forum: Diplomacy Strategy
Topic: Convoy Dislodging
Replies: 8
Views: 1048

Re: Convoy Dislodging

Szpoti wrote:
Sun Mar 24, 2019 1:44 pm
I'd like to draw your attention to the fact that the original text used inverted commas. Careful reading, careful reading.
Fair point, although, I was rather reflecting to jmo, before he makes the phrase an official naming by adding it to the faq.
by rokakoma
Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:04 pm
Forum: Diplomacy Strategy
Topic: Convoy Dislodging
Replies: 8
Views: 1048

Re: Convoy Dislodging

The manual doesn't mention such a situation explicitly, because nothing changes from the standard position: one unit attacking another. The convoying fleet is just an artificial 'province', and provides an exception from the rule that ground units cannot enter water tiles. That's the best way I've ...
by rokakoma
Tue Mar 19, 2019 1:04 pm
Forum: Diplomacy Advice
Topic: Does a unit that is defeated still cut off support?
Replies: 10
Views: 1144

Re: Does a unit that is defeated still cut off support?

It cannot cut the support of its own attacker, so if Eastern Med was supporting the attack on Syria it would have no effect. Fun fact, this was not the case originally, when it came to convoys. A convoying army was able to cut the support against the fleet convoying that particular army. So one sin...
by rokakoma
Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:51 pm
Forum: Diplomacy Advice
Topic: Does a unit that is defeated still cut off support?
Replies: 10
Views: 1144

Re: Does a unit that is defeated still cut off support?

The support is cut, even if the attacking unit is dislodged. The way I was taught was that you can cut a support, but you can never cut an attack. Enjoy Senlac. Exception to the rule is, when a convoying army is trying to cut an enemy support, and the fleet providing the convoy is dislodged. In tha...
by rokakoma
Wed Dec 26, 2018 10:08 am
Forum: Off Topic
Topic: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?
Replies: 46
Views: 3791

Re: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?

I hope you enjoyed the puddings ;) Two things, negotiating alliances in gunboats and definition of Diplomacy. I would start with the latter. When I referred to Diplomacy in my posts I referred to the real-life notion of multilateral relationships. Clearly, there was a misunderstanding here, if your ...
by rokakoma
Tue Dec 25, 2018 1:49 pm
Forum: Off Topic
Topic: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?
Replies: 46
Views: 3791

Re: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?

Let's agree positioning forces is PART of Diplomacy. Let's build on this! So my new question is, is positioning forces a part which can individually achieve diplomatic goals? I would argue, if the answer is yes, then gunboat is still diplomacy. Few definitions of Diplomacy I found on the net: - Dipl...
by rokakoma
Tue Dec 25, 2018 9:11 am
Forum: Off Topic
Topic: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?
Replies: 46
Views: 3791

Re: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?

@Octavious First of all, Merry Christmas to you and everyone! Secondly, let me quickly reflect. In gunboats Austria/Italy attacking each other in round #1 is almost always suicidal for both of them. It's just experience you don't do it. Technically, the option is open to everyone, practically you ju...
by rokakoma
Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:50 pm
Forum: Off Topic
Topic: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?
Replies: 46
Views: 3791

Re: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?

Speaking of offending, that's not my intention here either. My intention is, to give a perspective on gunboats as someone who played hundreds of them (and is considered one of the best ever by some ;) ) So my point is, if you are really curious about what kind of "Diplomacy" is involved in gunboats,...
by rokakoma
Mon Dec 24, 2018 8:12 pm
Forum: Off Topic
Topic: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?
Replies: 46
Views: 3791

Re: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?

At the heart of diplomacy is the ability to create game narratives, and to sell different narratives to different players. Gunboat has only one narrative which is on display to all. It is at most a public press game in which meaningful communications are limited to those players who happen to be yo...
by rokakoma
Mon Dec 24, 2018 7:24 pm
Forum: Off Topic
Topic: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?
Replies: 46
Views: 3791

Re: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?

that felt good ... thx ;) To quote one of the best gunboat players the site has ever seen. Credit where credit is due. Welcome back to the site! Sadly, I won't stay for long. :( I'm in-between jobs, so I had some free time to play. Also, I was missing playing a lot. God, it felt good! :) But I need...
by rokakoma
Mon Dec 24, 2018 7:19 pm
Forum: Off Topic
Topic: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?
Replies: 46
Views: 3791

Re: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?

The most stark difference is observed in the first phase, which in both Gunboat and diplomacy has perhaps the greatest impact, but in Gunboat is 90% luck. Yes, you can have a very (un)lucky opening in Gunboats, because there's no prior communication to the first step. But, your survival seldom depe...
by rokakoma
Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:44 pm
Forum: Off Topic
Topic: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?
Replies: 46
Views: 3791

Re: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?

that felt good ... thx ;)
jmo1121109 wrote:
Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:27 pm
To quote one of the best gunboat players the site has ever seen.
by rokakoma
Mon Dec 24, 2018 5:42 pm
Forum: Off Topic
Topic: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?
Replies: 46
Views: 3791

Re: Is it still Diplomacy if there is no press?

@Vom Kriege There's an awful lot of Diplomacy in Gunboats (aka: no press games). If you read some post-game discussions at those games' boards, you will see players wondering what they could have done to influence others' decision. As @Sultan_of_spin pointed out, you communicate through orders. You ...